Thursday, November 02, 2017 by Jhoanna Robinson
Modified starch is a food ingredient that is derived from starch, albeit in a more chemically altered form. People who are gluten-intolerant should watch out when purchasing this food ingredient, for there is a high possibility that modified food starch contains gluten.
Also, just because modified starch is gluten-free does not mean that it no longer has other gluten-containing ingredients. It can act as soluble or insoluble dietary fiber in the human intestine.
Starch may come from the following foods: rice, corn, potato, tapioca, and wheat, which are all starches. It can be produced by treating starch with sodium hydroxide or potassium hydroxide, adding a positive electrical charge to starch, and treating it with emulsifiers or starch ether, among others.
Starches are altered to make them more fitting for use in certain recipes. Some uses of modified starches in food products include:
Modified starches may be found in some altered food products such as chips, instant pudding, candy, canned soups, capsules that contain some medications, cheese sauces, low-fat ice cream, microwaveable ice cream, powder coated foods, and cocoa-dusted almonds, among others.
A person should limit their consumption of modified starch, or should altogether stop from taking it, as this food ingredient can add around 30 calories or seven grams of carbohydrates per teaspoon, while at the same time adding no nutritional value.
Modified starch is bad for the digestive system. It can cause abdominal bloating and flatulence.
Modified starch is bad for the digestive system.
Modified starch can make you fat.
Modified starch is a food ingredient that is derived from starch, albeit in a more chemically altered form.
Tagged Under: Tags: modified food starch